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What to do
if you or someone you know

is assaulted

Resources

Utah Toll Free Rape 
and Sexual Assault
24-hour crisis line
1.888.421.1100

Domestic Violence
Intimate Partner Violence 
1.800.897.LINK (5465)

Project development supported by Salt 
lake Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners, 
Utah Coalition Against Sexual Assault 
and Salt Lake Rape Recovery Center.

This project funded by the CDC Rape 
Prevention Education Grant
#VF1/CCV819939-04.

How to Report

Call 911 or Call the statewide Crisis line at 
1-888-421-1100

Why Report

Evidence can only be collected in the fi rst 
few days after the assault. The best evidence 
is collected earliest. For almost all victims of 
violence, the initial response is shock and 
denial. These initial feelings are often temporary. 
Evidence is also temporary. 
Following sexual assault or rape, feelings often 
move from shock and denial into anger. At the 
time of anger, many survivors and victims of 
violence wish they had requested evidence 
collection at the time of the assault.

Evidence generally needs to be collected within 
72 hours; some injuries and bruising may be 
documented later. Reporting to law enforcement 
will allow Crime Victim Reparations to pay for 
the initial examination and medications. They 
may also cover additional future expenses for 
needed health care, counseling and other costs 
related to the assault.

Reporting this crime also increases the 
awareness of law enforcement and the public 
regarding how signifi cant and frequent this 
crime is.

Remember, Sexual Assault is not the fault of the 
victim.

First & Foremost 
is Safety
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Sexual Assault, Rape
and Intimate Partner Violence

U.S. Department of Justice surveys of college U.S. Department of Justice surveys of college U.S. Department of Justice surveys of
campuses show that one in 36 women 
are victims of rape or attempted rape each 
academic year. An estimated 92,700 men are 
forcibly raped each year in the United States. 
In 80% of these cases the victim knows the 
assailant. If this happens to you or someone 
you know it is important to understand your 
options or how to help.

Your local hospital can address immediate 
health care needs after a sexual assault. 
Medications to prevent sexually transmitted 
infections and pregnancy prevention are 
available.

How to Report

Call 911 or call the statewide 24-hour crisis line 
1-888-421-1100.

Report or Not

The decision about whether or not to talk 
with the police about the assault is an 
individual one. Discussing the assault with law 
enforcement may allow the perpetrator to be 
held accountable for the crime, and will allow 
state funds to pay for the immediate medical 
care of the victim. Fear and embarrassment 
often cause many people to be reluctant to tell 
others about the assault. Even if one chooses 
to not immediately report the crime to police, 
crisis care and counseling are always available 
through the statewide number or through your 
local rape recovery center.

Common Questions

What should you do?

Get to a safe place.
Contact someone you trust.
Call the hot line or call 911.

Will you get pregnant?

Taking the pregnancy prevention medication Taking the pregnancy prevention medication T
within 72 hours of the assault reduces risk of 
getting pregnant by 75%.

Do you think you were drugged?

Samples of urine and blood may be obtained 
to test for “date rape drugs”. It is important to 
collect these as soon as possible. If reporting to 
Law Enforcement, be sure to tell the offi cer that 
date rape drugs may have been used.

Will health care providers report
to police?

Medical providers are required to report injuries 
that occurred because of a crime. For care 
without law enforcement involvement, you 
may seek pregnancy protection or infection 
protection without saying that you were 
assaulted. Please remember that if you do 
report the assault your clinician can better help 
you. Also, counseling and care from the crisis 
hot line and the local rape recovery center is 
confi dential.

Who gets assaulted?

Anyone can be a victim of assault; victims can 
be from any age or any walk of life. People 
do not “ask for it”. Sexual assault is a crime 
of violence. This crime is not the victim’s fault. 
Rape, sexual assault, intimate partner violence 
represent a signifi cant public health crisis.

Focus on Health Care
Are there Injuries?

Often because of shock and denial victims do 
not know if they were physically injured. If there 
is vaginal bleeding, a temperature greater than 
100.4°, or abdominal pain it is important to see 
a health care provider. Health Care providers 
may prescribe medications to prevent sexually 
transmitted diseases and pregnancy.

Evidence Collection —
Purpose of the Examination

If an assault is reported to law enforcement and 
examination may be done to collect evidence. 
The purpose of the examination is to identify 
and document any evidence of trauma as well 
as to collect evidence of sexual assault for the 
police. A history of the assault is an important 
part of the evidence. A nurse who specializes 
in evidence collection called a forensic nurse 
examiner will provide medication to prevent 
some sexually transmitted diseases and help 
prevent pregnancy.




