skip navigation
Office of Justice Programs

National Crime Victims’ Service Awards

Each year, OVC recognizes individuals and organizations that demonstrate outstanding service in supporting victims and victim services. The award recipients, who are selected from public nominations in 11 categories, are extraordinary individuals, organizations, teams, and programs that provide services to victims of crime. The honorees are honored at the National Crime Victims’ Service Awards Ceremony.

The 2017 National Crime Victims' Service Awards nomination period is now closed.

2016 National Crime Victims' Service Awards Ceremony

In 2016, the Awards Ceremony was held on April 12, 2016, in Washington, D.C. If you missed the event and would like to learn more, visit the following:

Visit the OVC Gallery for more information about past award recipients and past commemorative events.

Community Awareness Projects: Raising Public Awareness of NCVRW

Each year, the National Association of VOCA Assistance Administrators, with support from OVC, provides competitive funding for NCVRW Community Awareness Projects (CAP) to local communities. These grants reimburse up to $5,000 in costs associated with conducting public awareness activities during NCVRW.

This initiative has enhanced the ability of hundreds of communities throughout the United States to raise awareness about victims’ rights and services among the general public.

There are a variety of creative NCVRW awareness activities, including art exhibits and contests, blood drives, runs/walks, and community fairs that can be easily adapted to different jurisdictions.

The 2017 application period is now closed, however you may still visit the CAP website and sign up to receive an email notice when the 2018 application process begins.

bottom border